Talking in My Sleep

talking

A conversation at the Bangkai household during breakfast yesterday:

Wife: Did you know you talk in your sleep?

Bangkai: (Gasp! I could be in a lot of trouble here. I’ll go on buttering my toast and pretend I didn’t hear her.)

Wife: Didn’t you hear what I said? You’ve been talking in your sleep.

Bangkai: Er… really? (Surreptitiously searching for an emergency exit)

Wife: Yes, really!

Bangkai: I’ve been talking in my sleep? (Think fast, man! Think fast!)

Wife: That’s what I said.

Bangkai: I’m sure it was nothing – just the subconscious playing malicious tricks (Good! There are no sharp objects in sight).

Wife: It was nothing, my foot! You were bloody singing ‘God Save the Queen’!

Bangkai: (Phew!) Oh, really? I think we’ve run out of thick-cut marmalade, dear…

I know I think I was once a WWII RAF fighter pilot. But singing ‘God Save the Queen’ in my sleep? I must be one very confused Malay.

16 thoughts on “Talking in My Sleep

  1. Mat B,

    Am just wondering – did you stand up in bed and do the your three-limb salute whilst singing God Save The Queen? *grins*

    Andrea

    At my age I’ll be lucky if I can manage a two and a half limb salute…

  2. MB!! Luckily you sang that song..what if you were to mumble the queen’s name…Elizabeth! Elizabeth!
    Now how are you going to tackle that..definitely a rolling pin will land on yee head Sire!!

    mamasita

    Had I gone “Elizabeth! Elizabeth!”, today I would have to change my name to Sofia – after the Bobbit-job.

    On second thoughts, I could try: “Elizabeth? Oh, that’s Charles’ mother, dear. You know, the one who wears the crown… She’s really more like an aunt than anything else.”

    Good to hear from you again

  3. heheheheh………………must be from my hp which i pick up from your.

    Pak Tuo

    “God save our gracious Queen
    long live our noble Queen
    God save our Queen
    send her victorious
    happy and glorious
    long to reign over us
    god save the Queen
    … ”
    click here

  4. My husband has the same reaction when I told him he speaks in his sleeps– until the point I told him he speaks about selling oranges.

    Orang jual minyak dia jual limau. I rather have him talk about God Save the Queen. At least, that’s not so open to connotations if I use Freudian to decipher.

    Percicilan

    Your husband sells oranges in his sleep? That’s kinda safe, isn’t it? I can’t think of anything more harmless than a few crates of oranges. Both of you like citrus fruits that much, huh?

    But God Save the Queen, on the other hand, is a veritable minefield. A Fruedian spin on things might indicate some sort of Oedipus complex or even a hen-pecked husband living an oppressive matriarchal regime – not that any of these apply to me, of course.

    Honest!

  5. ahahhaha! does that mean that you wish to be a citizen of another country and not know it? i think your subconscious is telling you something…

    Mdm Markonah

    My wife once said to my friend:

    Wife: Problem with my hubby is that he thinks he is a Mat Salleh!

    Friend: No, that’s not the problem. The problem is he is trying to convince himself he is a Malay!

    🙂

  6. Hey Matt, u can rest assured you had her undivided attention when u talked in your sleep.

    Hahaha God Saves the Queen, what were u thinking? Must be the time u spent in UK, influenced by Lord Sutch & the ‘Official Monster Raving Loony Party’ (OMRLP).

    ” I have come to change the government, not to praise it.” “There is nothing more monstrous than politicians”. Screaming Lord Sutch

    “If at first you don’t succeed, then skydiving isn’t for you ” R.U.Seerius

    Cheers,
    Tommy

    P/S – I like Gordon Lightfoot hit; ‘If u could read my mind’. Sure u can..heheh.

    Tommy

    Lord Sutch and the Loony Party! Now that brings back memories. Too bad we don’t have someone like him here. That guy who wrote “Dare to Fail” came close, though.

  7. I laughed so hard I woke my son up. He just said “BE QUIET MAMA!” and fall asleep again.

    Azlin

    Sorry about that. But I’m glad you had a good laugh.

  8. at least u didnt dream of prince jon jon..

    Nadialoretta

    Oh, no! I’d have a tough time explaining who Prince John John is… and also why I’m talking about him in my sleep!

  9. dear matb,

    yr dreamland salute, not surprising at all. as they say…

    tempat jatuh lagi dikenang, inikan pula tempat bermain! ;D

    mekyam

    Precisely, ma’am! Precisely!

  10. Better that.. than “hit me baby one more time” – 😉

    Tranquility

    That, sir, would have earned me a Bobbit-job – along with “To All The Girls I’ve Loved Before”.

  11. Mat B

    re Mekyam’s comment:
    I’m always wary of “tempat bermain”..
    especially if ‘jatuh’ at the same time..
    boleh slip disc beb…hehehehe

    Puteri Kamaliah

    Hmm… I try to separate the bad stuff from the good stuff; I don’t always succeed, but I always try 😉

  12. Mat-san,

    You do really talk in your sleep?Gotta be careful, friend.But then again, anything incriminating which may be said in deep
    sleep wouldn`t hold in any court of law,as
    you were not conscious when it was uttered,
    no?I`m no legal eagle, just used to seeking
    a line of defense in any situation, should the
    need ever arise.

    Sorry,still jet-lagged.Got back from a biz trip to
    Europe last night.Just managed to get out of Athens through the madding crowd of holiday-makers there ..summer vacation in Europe began last Saturday, my friend..(Sigh!What am I doing in the office today? )

    Know, something, Mat-san? Nobody in Europe bothers about the H1N1,esecially at their airports.And the few “masked” paxs in the aircraft when I was flying here and there last week in Europe were only Asians….”showing-off”(that`s what my mind says) .I,for one, sincerely believe we Asians are blowing the whole thing way out of proportion here!

    Cheers , my friend!

    Higashi-san

    Aye! But women aren’t courts of law – anything you say WILL be used against you, including things you didn’t even say!

    Welcome back, my friend!

  13. Hey Matt, {Sorry off topic}

    I just can’t wait to share this piece of good news with you in this current doom & gloomy climate! At least there’s something positive to ‘drool’ forward to…yippeee. My personal choice would have to be Scarlette Johansson. But never mind, Jessica Alba will do too, definitely NOT Senna Miller lah!

    Check this out;

    http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/showbiz/film/2581999/Battle-of-the-Barbarella-babes-begins.html

    Cheers,
    Tommy.
    P/S – Sometimes dreams do come true…heheh

    Tommy

    Gulp! That J-j-jane F-f-fonda can strum my g-g-guitar any t-t-t-time…

Leave a Reply

