Hold That Pose

When it comes to things literary, I can be a snob at times. It is seldom (very seldom indeed) that I get excited about the work of writers who are not yet dead. And if the writer happens to be younger than I am, hails from Malaysia and hasn’t got a book to his name, it’s likely I’ll never notice him till he kicks the bucket – twice.

But my days of literary snobbery are over! In a Facebook status update recently, a dear old friend asked me to have a look-see at his son’s blog, ‘Hold That Pose’. Frankly, I went in not expecting to see anything new. However, I ended-up reading the blog from beginning to end, immersed in each word as if they were the sweet, calming breath of a long lost beloved.

His prose took me on coastal road tours of familiar places long forgotten as well as on scary aerobatic flights at at altitudes I never knew I would ever scale. In the end, to say that the view that he showed me was breath-taking would be an understatement.

Arief Hamizan, the owner of Hold that Pose, is easily the most formidable talent I seen in a very, very long time. That he is young is neither here nor there. He writes with a maturity that belies his age; he writes as if he is an old soul that has been cruelly reincarnated in a young body. In another time and place I have no doubt that Arief Hamizan would be our equivalent of Hemingway, Twain, Kerouac, Bourdain and Fitzgerald – all rolled into one.

What do I like most about Arief Hamizan? He writes with such uncanny honesty that it makes the reader question his own. Arief Hamizan doesn’t write to impress anyone; Arief Hamizan doesn’t understand why he would need to. To be candid, I think he’d rather drill a hole in his head before writing in this way. Instead, he writes about the things that he sees, in the way that he sees them.

And I most definitely like what I am seeing. Naturally, I urge everyone to give Arief Hamizan a twirl.

Well, almost everyone. Those that write primarily to impress others will be well advised to give Arief Hamizan a pass. If you do read him, you’ll probably regret it for the rest of your lives.

5 thoughts on “Hold That Pose

  1. I remembered the scene in ‘Midnight in Paris’.

    Gil: I would like you to read my novel and get your opinion.
    Ernest Hemingway: I hate it.
    Gil: You haven’t even read it yet.
    Ernest Hemingway: If it’s bad, I’ll hate it. If it’s good, then I’ll be envious and hate it even more. You don’t want the opinion of another writer.

    Arief Hamizan also reminds me of Oscar Wilde

    • Hi Fadhli

      Heheh! Since I am nowhere near Hemingway’s stature, I guess I am allowed not to hate other people’s writing. I most certainly don’t hate Arief Hamizan’s work. But i must say I am a bit envious. No, make that a lot envious 🙂

  2. oh my god! i have been reading him since 6 pm today. now cursing myself, i have to sleep early. tomorrow is another day in court. damn brilliant mind, stylish too. this all your fault!

    • This kid makes for some compelling reading. BTW, he also gave me a book to read: Shadow of the Wind. I suggest you grab that on your next trip to Kinokuniya. If the purchase turns out to be a disappointment, you are welcome to gouge my eye out.

Leave a Reply

